Tags

, , , ,

Here are my top 50 BTVS-verse characters:

1)Buffy
2)Willow
3)Fred
4)Anya
5)Faith
6)Tara
7)Darla
8)Glory
9)Drusilla
10)Angel
11)Spike
12)Joyce
13)Oz
14)Xander
15)Giles
16)Lorne
17)Gwen
18)Kendra
19)Clem
20)Jenny
21)Wesley
22)Cordelia
23)Angelus
24)Kate
25)Lilah
26)Mayor Wilkins
27)Gunn
28)Sweet
29)Robin
30)Doyle
31)Vi
32)Dracula
33)Anne
34)Andrew
35)Groosalugg
36)Eve
37)Nina
38)Dawn
39)Harmony
40)The Master
41)Caleb
42)Riley
43)Ethan
44)Jasmine
45)Warren
46)Holtz
47)Connor
48)Lindsay
49)Principal Snyder
50)Illyria

Now for an explanation. I essentially just typed the first 50 BTVS-verse characters that came to my mind. How I grouped it is pretty…simple I guess. The first ten are all my favorites. All time favorites. The last 50 are the characters I hate the most. Everyone in the middle were ones I didn’t particularly care for, or just..couldn’t decide. Obviously every single one of these characters resonated with me in some way.

Buffy is number one because..well she’s Buffy. She’s the central character. She’s completely BA. Anybody who says otherwise can get out. Now. Willow is number two for essentially the same reason. I loved all that is Willow. I loved her when she was shy, geeky, and awkward. I loved her when she became all powerful, confident, BA super-witch. And of course, I loved her when she was the Big Bad of season 6. Oh my Turtle how I loved Dark Willow. She’s the reason why flaying is now my favorite form of killing people in short stories and stuff.

Wait, what?

Ahem, moving on. Fred. I- words cannot express my adoration of Winnifred Burkle. Words cannot express how heartbroken or how much I cried when that stupid filthy skank hell god demon whore Illyria killed her then took over her body. I still haven’t finished Angel. I own all the dvds. This happened three years ago.

Anya…oh Anya. Her blunt way of dealing with common taboo subjects in public such as sex and morbidity made me love her even more. Sure, sometimes she could have been a witch. I mean, she WAS a vengeance demon. But her character development was one of the most well done aspects of the series in my opinion and her journey from demon to human (and back again) was amazing. I also sobbed uncontrollably when she died at the end of the series. But it was the last episode. It was forgiven. Sorta. She’s also the source of my intense hatred for the Lepus.

Faith is BA. Need I say more? Tara and Willow’s relationship was one of maybe two fictional character relationships that I ever, EVER actually rooted for. That’s saying something. Also, Joss Whedon is a dick. Just saying.

I didn’t like Darla at first, I thought she was irritating. Then when she reappeared in Angel, I grew to love her as she became human, and as she shared a soul with COnnor while she was pregnant. I was so upset when Drusilla re-sired her, but that soon dissipated. Which brings me to Drusilla. Her insanity is what draws me to her. She’s just so fascinating and sadistic, I love it. When her and Darla teamed up and wrecked havoc on LA…one of my favorite parts of Angel ever.

I just love the crazies. Which is why Glory is in my top ten. I think Glory is the reason why season 5 is one of my all time favorites. She also has one of the best quotes ever: “So you’re saying some people like this? Funny, ’cause I look around at this world you’re so eager to a part of, and all I see are six billion lunatics looking for the fastest way out. Who’s not crazy? Look around. Everyone’s drinking, smoking, shooting up, shooting each other or just plain screwing their brains out ’cause they don’t want ’em anymore. I’m crazy? Honey, I’m the original one-eyed chicklet in the kingdom of the blind. ‘Cause at least I admit the world makes me nuts.

I don’t have much to say about Angel other than I liked him more than Spike. Sorry.

The last ten, I just wanted to rip their guts out and just couldn’t wait for them to go away.. Riley was a selfish douche. Ethan was just a dick. Jasmine was annoying as hell. Holtz was a bastard. Connor has too many daddy issues (although he does get better in After The Fall…), Lindsay was too…flip-floppy, The Master was actually okay, and Warren killed Tara. And is a misogynistic dick. As for Illyria, although some say she’s a complete BA, she killed Fred. I can never forgive her.