Tags

, , , , ,

You know those days where you just don’t feel like doing anything? So you don’t, and then end up feeling terrible about it. Yup, this is one of those days for me.

Anyways, so the other day I went with some friends to see Pacific Rim. I had first heard about it in the last..month or so of college and it did look pretty awesome. Within the past month, a few of my friends were getting really hyped up about it, and I guess I was a little excited to see it too. I’m always a fan of giant monsters destroying things and eating people. I guess how the good guys take care of it is sort of interesting too… Everybody I know and their distant cousins have been going to see it so I went with some friends this past Saturday. Spoilers ahead maybe.

To say the least, the movie was a little too hyped.

It seemed like there was too much cheesy dialogue and footage of inside the base or whatever…and not enough monster destruction. Most of the Kaiju wrecking things was in news reports and flashbacks. At least, that’s what it seemed like. The dialogue was..cheesy and some things introduced (namely that the dead Kaiju parts and their blood polluting the ocean and causing disease), were merely touched upon too briefly when they could have been made into an interesting subplot of the movie. It seemed like the first part of the movie dragged on forever, until we finally get to our first huge fight scene since the first ten minutes…and two of three Jaegers die and the third is shut down by some bs EMP. Leaving the cliche lead duo to swoop in and rescue them. The duo who is comprised of a typical reckless male lead with a pained past, and a female lead who crippled them in the freakin training simulator. Something that you just can’t get over and get right in the second try. They then take down both Kaiju that three other freakin robots couldn’t do together and save the day, hailed as heroes. If the movie had ended there, I probably would have left. That’s how long it seemed the movie had dragged on. That fight, the first actual one in the entire movie, seemed like the end.

So, the plot was a little weak, the dialogue was cheesy, it seemed to drag on, and the characters were a little too cliche. The cliche and cheesiness, that’s enjoyable and needed sometimes. For a comedy. Or a kids show. Or maybe even a horror movie. A little bit in every genre doesn’t hurt, but enough is enough. The main main problem I had was the fact that it seemed too long. I have a short attention span. I cannot focus on a movie, when I am expecting giant robot and monster fights, where the characters are mostly moaning and groaning about their past and personal problems. In a base. Okay, they can solve that WHILE they’re fighting the Kaiju. It made me laugh when I read up on the movie afterwards and the writers/producers/directors said they were aiming for a real deep and emotional movie like no other. I didn’t really see any of that.

Now for the things I liked. There’s one character played by Ron Perlman that was just awesome. Although he was kinda a dick, and I did laugh..a lot during one unfortunate scene. He had that air of comedic BAery that I really like. Also, post credits scene. That made me a very happy person. The special effects of the movie involving the fight scenes were just simply amazing. I wasn’t disappointed with the Jaeger or Kaiju effects at all.

Now, I heard they already started a sequel MONTHS before this movie actually hit theaters. My opinion on that? Unless they have a really phantasmal idea, don’t do it. Please.